a landscape lover's blog

garden tales from a Brit abroad

Gardens of Power and Passion

I wrote here about the fascinating experience of working on a television history of French gardens, presented by Monty Don.

The programme, called Gardens of Power and Passion, will air this evening on BBC2 for UK viewers. I’d love to hear what people think.

image001

10 comments on “Gardens of Power and Passion

  1. narf77
    February 2, 2013

    NO idea when we will get that series here (Tasmania Australia) but I will be watching out for it now :) Kudos on working with “The Don” ;)

  2. Julie
    February 2, 2013

    It was very good Jill, you must be delighted to have been part of the programme.
    Julie x

  3. Anonymous
    February 2, 2013

    I LOVED the episode- but unfortunately only noticed the programme was airing after it started already, so missed the first 3/4 However, even the quarter of an hour which I did see was enough to let me dream… And also to work harder tomorrow on my thesis for the course I am attending in Holland re: “green cultural heritage”.
    I would very much like to get a list of the featured gardens but have not yet been able to find it published.
    I know that next week will feature Villandry, and that alone will make me start sawing in my propogator after I bought this years; seeds for our kitchen garden last week.

    An other advantage of MontyDons new programme is that I found your blog through this…. what a nice trouvaille!

  4. Donna@Gardens Eye View
    February 2, 2013

    I hope we get it here in the US as well…

  5. fransorin
    February 4, 2013

    Jill – Congratulations. How can we view it? Fran

  6. Judy
    February 11, 2013

    Congrats I hope we get this in the states as well

  7. maggie
    February 11, 2013

    Yes, please point me in the direction of viewing it here in the US.
    And don’t let Hollywood change you!

  8. landscapelover
    February 12, 2013

    Thanks for all the comments. I understand that the series will definitely be sold for viewing abroad in due course, but there is no news yet of where or when. There is also likely to be a commercial DVD set.

    On locations, the first episode included Chenonceau, Vaux le Vicomte, Versailles, Les Tuileries, Dan Kiley’s work at La Défense, Les Invalides, Place des Vosges, Malmaison, the Courson plant fair, Roseraie de l’Haÿ, the Hermès roof garden on rue Faubourg St Honoré, Champ de Bataille and Courances.

    I’m grateful to Rachel Bell, the series director, for providing lists of the places featured in the other two programmes:

    Kitchen Garden: Monastère de Solan, Val Joanis, Villandry, Potager du Roi, Jardins Ouvriers d’Aubréville, Les Sambucs, Cévennes, La Chassagnette, Camargue, Prieuré Notre Dame D’Orsan.

    Artists film: Giverny, Jas de Bouffan (Cézanne), Les Lauves (Cézanne), Cubist garden at Villa Noailles, La Louve, Patrick Blanc’s private garden, Séricourt, Jardin Plume.

  9. Jean
    February 19, 2013

    Jill, Good television programming about gardens is sadly lacking in the United States, so I’ll be watching for this. Congratulations on your part in the production.

  10. Jill, I managed to watch all three episodes of the seres. Congratulations for your role in the production. I have to say I liked it, but I thought it was going to be more episodes, Iwould love to “wander around” in the 2CV visiting more gardens! I think that the there was a different approach to every episode and that was good for the content, but not so for the balance of the series. Maybe the 2nd, gourmet gardens, was a little more consistent in the storyline. But the 1st and 3rd should have had more time or more episodes, to deep into what the title was offereing. It was interestng to see Patrick Blanc’s own vertical garden! All in all it was a ver good show. Congrats again.
    I am sure you must have had great time being part of the team and getting to be inside the show!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 1, 2013 by in France outside Paris, Gardens, History, Paris and tagged , .

Discover other landscape lover articles on these sites:

ThinkinGardens
On Botanical Photography
GGW
Soiled and Seeded
Along Life's Highway

Enter your email address to subscribe to my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 223 other followers

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 223 other followers