a landscape lover's blog

garden tales from a Brit abroad

Moroccan patterns

We spent the past week in Marrakech. It was my first taste of North Africa; I had expected the earthy smells and colours, the noise, the warmth of the February sun. What took me by surprise was the intricacy of the city – its wooden fretwork, filigree tinware, calligraphy, mosaic tiles, the plasterwork like piped icing, the delicate mashrabiyya screens, even the tiny details of the fresh mint, rose petals and spices piled up in the souks.

Such patterning played a strong part in the gardens we visited. I will post more later in the week.

9 comments on “Moroccan patterns

  1. Garden Walk Garden Talk
    February 21, 2011

    I am really looking forward to your posts of Moroccan gardens. I know the area is rich in pattern, color and culture. It is a place that is on my bucket list someday.

  2. Beautiful patterns, can’t wait for the next post.

  3. Karin/Southern Meadows
    February 21, 2011

    You have wetted my appetite. I am looking forward to seeing more of this wonderful place.

  4. Kerry Hand
    February 21, 2011

    Waiting for that post on the gardens

  5. lifeshighway
    February 21, 2011

    What a great teaser. I can’t wait to see what you have seen and admired. I love the intricate Moroccan art work. The gardens must be fabulous.

  6. Malinda
    February 21, 2011

    Beautiful colors and patterns – but most importantly was it sunny and warm??? – Just kidding – I am looking forward to more picutres!

  7. EvoOrganic
    February 21, 2011

    These are beautiful pictures! Can’t wait to see more.

  8. Julia
    February 22, 2011

    Love your blog! So happy to have stumbled across it. Just beautiful =)

  9. Alice Joyce
    February 22, 2011

    So envious. I’ve wanted to visit Morocco for the longest time.
    Pattern in every aspects intriques and delights. I look forward to your upcoming posts.
    I’ll soon be in the desert. Seeking quiet time and natural settings.
    Would that it might be the desert of Northern Africa!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 20, 2011 by in Gardens, Morocco and tagged , .

Discover other landscape lover articles on these sites:

ThinkinGardens
On Botanical Photography
GGW
Soiled and Seeded
Along Life's Highway

Enter your email address to subscribe to my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 218 other followers

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 218 other followers